Product Review: Olay Skin Whitening Bar

 

Olay Skin Whitening Bar from BDJ

One fine afternoon, I received a pleasant surprise from Belle de Jour. The Olay girl in me rejoices.

Olay Skin Whitening Bar from Belle de Jour

     Its fragrance is hypnotic, calming, and sensual all at the same time. With its scent, it was evidently a pick-me-upper the moment I unboxed it. That prompted me to purchase Olay Skin Whitening Bar with Rose and Milk weeks before. So when I was sent a sample by Belle de Jour, it excited me as a very welcome treat.

     The soap moisturizes my dry skin, leaving it supple to touch. More importantly, it is helping my skin to recover from the ugly tan lines brought by the summer. It’s affordable too at Php34 for 60g, Php46 for 90g and is actually cheaper than most whitening soap from grocery stores.

     Olay, needless to say is a most trusted brand when it comes to skin care products. I, myself, am an avid user of Olay Total Effects 7in1 Anti-Ageing Moisturizer. Since this whitening bar boasts of ingredients also present from Olay’s another day cream, the Olay Natural White All in One Fairness Day Cream, it’s definitely a must buy for me! I highly recommend it and it will definitely occupy a space on my everyday bathing routine.

 PROS

  • Fragrant
  • Moisturizes without the greasy, sticky feeling
  • Easy to rinse, good for on the go girls
  • Affordable
  • Made with rose and milk, natural
  • From Olay. Period.

CONS

  • No drastic whitening effects

Traces of Summer

     Summer was fun with the out of town trips and all, but sometimes it leaves nasty marks on our skin. This particular summer, though, my skin got darker than usual and for some reason, my complexion is having a hard time returning to its natural tone. I purposely do not use whitening soaps as I love my natural skin tone. I’m not mestiza nor morena so I think I strike a really good balance of both.   To be honest, most whitening soaps scare me as my skin is sensitive and prone to excessive drying so I purposely shy away from those. The mere mention of acid in kojic acid is intimidating and glutathione is something you should overdose with orally to take effect. But lately I noticed that the harsh tan lines are bothering – it has been months since my last beach trip and they’re still here! They’re not the sexy kind of tan lines, I got uneven skin tone from wearing tshirt on the beach so yeah, it’s more than unflattering when wearing sleeveless.

      Are you experiencing the same? Nowadays, beauty comes in all shapes, sizes and color so I’ll be far from advocating whitening skin to look and feel more beautiful. But will you be one to agree that even skin tone is beautiful? And who would say no to glowing skin?

     So there comes Olay’s #onewashwonder campaign which promises to make skin look fairer from the first wash. That’s because of the illusion brought by the micro shimmer in the bar. Of course,it is still recommended to be used on a daily basis if you want effects that last longer. For immediate effects and long-term skin goals, this is it!

One Wash Wonder

Olay Whitening Bar

Remove traces of summer!

     Olay Skin Whitening Bar with Rose & Milk claims to reveal NATURAL white skin all over; GENTLY exfoliate skin and wash away dead skin cells; and EVEN SKIN TONE to make it look clean and clear. It’s not chemical-ladden, it doesn’t sting, and it accomplishes my goal of evening skin tone. Summer should remain in my memories and photographs, not on my skin!

     This bar is formulated with Egyptian Rosa Canina Rose Petals and milk. You may have heard by now that oil and water extracted from roses have several skin benefits. On higher concentrations, rose oil can even treat certain skin diseases. Milk of course won’t be used by Cleopatra for no beneficial reasons. Milk hydrates skin, exfoliates old skin and helps lighten it. If you think natural ingredients are still best for our bodies in the long run, then give this bar a try.

     It’s a big plus that this soap is easy to rinse. Lately, I go to the gym in the morning before work. After every workout it’s important for me to finish bath time in the most efficient manner.

My Verdict

     It’s 4.0/5.0 for Olay Skin Whitening Bar with Rose & Milk and I will definitely repurchase. After all, for bellas like us, living life to the fullest is sometimes just a #onewashwonder away.

Leave a Reply

