“Hope in God” to Me Means…

Favorite Mass Song. This makes me cry.

Favorite Mass Song. I loved it the first time I heard it that I created this through TextCutie app and made it my tablet’s wallpaper.

This is a Communion Song in Filipino, being sung during Philippine Catholic Mass and is written by Fr. Gboi Samonte. Translated from English, this are from verses 3 and 4 of Psalm 37:

3 Trust in the Lord and do good;
    dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Manahan kang ligtas sa lupain/Enjoy safe pasture. This is what strike me the most as I hear this when lining up for communion.It’s like my parents telling me, “Be safe!”, as they bid me goodbye when I leave home for work.

The Bible instructs as to live a safe and guarded life on earth. In this world, do not be stupid. As God wants us to not lose hope and to put our full trust in Him, He also orders us to protect and defend life from any harm we may encounter.

This is how rich the words are in Filipino. Full lyrics is from http://www.bukaspalad.com/board/showthread.php?p=69102 I chanced to see when I was searching for it on the net.

(*) Refrain:
Umasa ka sa Diyos, ang mabuti’y gawin
At manahan kang ligtas sa lupain.
Sa Diyos mo hanapin ang kaligayahan
At pangarap mo ay makakamtan.

1. Ang iyong sarili’y sa Diyos mo ilagak,
Pag nagtiwala ka’y tutulungang ganap;
Ang kabutihan mo ay magliliwanag,
Katulad ng araw kung tanghaling tapat. (*)

2. Sa harap ng Diyos ay pumanatag ka,
Maging matiyagang maghintay sa kanya;
H’wag mong kaiingitan ang gumiginhawa
Sa likong paraan, umunlad man sila.(*)

Ending:
At pangarap mo ay makakamtan

Leave a Reply

